Magmaw no mo’

In another successful raid night, we downed Magmaw last night. We used the same setup that I described from last time: myself tanking the giant worm o’ death, Ang kiting the parasites, and everyone else grouped up on the other side of Magmaw. We used hero on the very first “exposed” phase, where Mag’s got his head stuck on the pike. For those paladin tanks who may be interested, I did some seal swapping at regular intervals during this fight (I minor glyphed both Truth and Insight, to help with mana).

I started the fight with Truth active, then after establishing a good aggro lead, swapped for Insight. While I can’t remember if I looked at recount or not after the fight, I do remember feeling like that was helping contribute to keeping my health up. Once I was pulled into his mouth (go go gadget chewtoy?), I switched back to Truth. Now, this portion of the encounter has some fun tank damage on it, but at that point, the tank has access to Magmaw’s head instead of his body, so by popping CDs reguarly, I was able to pump out some nice dps here. I kept Truth after being dropped, and after Mag freed himself (and I established another aggro lead) it was rinse repeat.

We went on to fight with the “Tron Council,” and we had mixed success. This was mainly due to us needing to replace DPS twice due to internet issues, meaning fresh folks (no one we brought in had done it before then) were being mixed in intermittently. We almost downed them at one point (I believe they got down to 4%), but I was single tanking by that point due to Ang dying, so we weren’t able to make it, ultimately. We’ll be continuing on Thursday again, so stay tuned! Well, as “tuned” as you can be to a blog o.O

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

